– Thoughts on Strategy and Management

Thinkers50 Awards for 2013 now open for nominations

The Thinkers50 Awards are a global ranking of top management thinkers. First launched in 2001, it has been published every two years since. It’s purpose is to identify and share the best management thinkers in the world. In 2011 the Thinkers50 Category Awards were established and – as it is written on the website ‘immediately hailed as the “Oscars of management thinking”‘. Previous award winners were Clayton Christensen (2011), CK Prahalad (2009 & 2007), Michael Porter (2005) and Peter Drucker (2003 & 2001).

There are 7 categories of the Thinkers50 awards now. The categories and the 2011 winners are:

  • The Breakthrough Idea Award (Vijay Govindarajan)
  • The Leadership Award (Marshall Goldsmith)
  • The Global Village Award (Nirmalya Kumar)
  • The Innovation Award (Clayton Christensen)
  • The Strategy Award (W Chan Kim & Renée Mauborgne)
  • The Future Thinkers Award (Lucy P. Marcus)
  • The Thinkers50 Book Award (Pankaj Ghemawat)

The nomination process for the 2013 awards is described on the Thinkers50 website. Nominations are possible until 31 July 2013. There are also some criteria by which thinkers are evaluated, such as originality and practicality of ideas, impact of ideas, power to inspire, and more.

Finally, I like to recommend you the Thinkers50 Blog. In this section of the T50 website, several management thinkers present inspiring thoughts and ideas in the area of management and strategy. There are new posts about two or three times a month

Comments are closed.